Dr. Karen Morgan Ivy

Monica Almonor-Solomon
Vice President

Deatra Ashley

Alison Thornton
Corresponding Secretary

Leah Jackson
Recording Secretary

Mayya Bryant
Student Representative

facebookLike us on Facebook!

Follow us on twitter



The Black History Month Committee, under the auspices of the Lee Hagan Africana Studies Center, is pleased to announce that it is accepting essays for the Second Annual New Jersey City University Black History Month Essay Contest. A selection committee consisting of members of the University community will review all completed applications and select the winning essays.

The deadline for applications is January 22, 2014 no later than 4 p.m. All applications must be submitted to the Black History Month Committee on or before the due date and time. No late submissions will be accepted. E-mail submissions, for the sake of time, are preferred. USPS mail, within the time constraints, is acceptable. Apply now


General meetings are held every first Wednesday of the month in the Student Union, Room 317.

Yemaya Sistah Gathering: Wednesday, 4/30/14 - MPR-A 12pm-2pm
Salute to Graduates of African Heritage: Friday, 5/2/14 - MPR-ABC 4pm-6pm


current By-laws (PDF)

Sunshine FUND

The purpose of the Sunshine Fund is to support BAAFSSO members during times of trials and celebration. This can take the form of cards, flowers and/or monetary donations.
It is the responsibility of each member to notify the President of BAAFSSO of relevant events in each member's life. BAAFSSO asks each member to contribute $20 each academic year. Unspent proceeds will be rolled over each year.