Having trouble viewing this email? Click here.

NJCU

NJCU’s Lee Hagan Africana Studies Center Presents
the 25th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Luncheon

Monday,
February 10, 2014
12:00-2:00 p.m.
Admission: $30

Michael B. Gilligan Student Union
Multipurpose Rooms A, B, and C
New Jersey City University
2039 Kennedy Boulevard
Jersey City, NJ 07305
Keynote Speaker Maxim Thorne

Maxim Thorne is a senior executive, thought leader, lawyer, and philanthropist who is executive vice president for development at the Paley Center for Media, overseeing all philanthropic efforts bridging the gulf between legacy and new media and focusing on media’s role and impact in society.

Mr. Thorne stresses the importance of private philanthropy in a healthy civil society and founded Philanthropy in Motion, which trains next-generation donors, and Weekend Renewing America’s Promise, which convenes leaders from across the globe. Mr. Thorne also advises philanthropies and family foundations and teaches at Yale University where, through his “Philanthropy in Action” seminar, students award $100,000 each semester to charities.

Previously, Mr. Thorne was senior vice president and chief development and communications officer of the NAACP, chief operating officer and vice president of the Human Rights Campaign, and executive director of New Jersey Head Start. He successfully represented the NAACP, Head Start, and local daycare centers in the Abbott v. Burke case in the New Jersey Supreme Court. A key fundraiser for Barack Obama’s presidential campaign, he has also served on the African American Leadership Council, the LGBT Leadership Council, and the Finance and Policy Committees for the Democratic National Committee. Mr. Thorne is also a blogger on the Huffington Post.

Purchase Tickets from the Martin Luther King, Jr. Ticket Committee
Name Department Ext. Email
Carrie Robinson Educational Leadership 3400 crobinson@njcu.edu
Monica Almonor Registrar 3263 malmonor@njcu.edu
Jose Balda Admissions 3381 jbalda@njcu.edu
Allan DeFina Literacy Education 3388 adefina@njcu.edu
Denise Gourdine Security & Safety 3127 dgourdine@njcu.edu
Steve Haber ESL 4304 shaber@njcu.edu
Bruce Harmon Security Administration 3127 bharmon@njcu.edu
Sheila Kirven Library Services 3471 skirven@njcu.edu
Debra McClary Professional Studies 2009 dmcclary@njcu.edu
Joseph Moskowitz Political Science 3239 jmoskowitz@njcu.edu
Mihri Napoliello Multicultural Center 3380 mnapoliello@njcu.edu
Robert Quinones Campus Life 3585 rquinones@njcu.edu
Carol Powell Business Incubator 2313 dpowell@njcu.edu
Michael Perna Marketing 3542 mperna@njcu.edu
Lori Summers Development 3198 lsummers@njcu.edu
Tamara T. Cunningham Academic Affairs 2033 tcunningham@njcu.edu
Brandi Warren Education 2594 bwarren@njcu.edu
Debra Welch Multicultural Center 3380 dwelch@njcu.edu
Tim White History 2286 twhite1@njcu.edu
Naomi Wright University Advisement 2177 nwright@njcu.edu
Theresa Guerierre A. Harry Moore 3138 tguerierre@njcu.edu
Harry Guerierre      
Denise Martin Hagan Center 3524 dmartin@njcu.edu

For further information call (201)200-3524 or visit www.njcu.edu/hagancenter/.
Produced by NJCU’s Division of University Advancement